Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 19th, 2008

Here are the projects we did in Stamp Club last night. I wanted to focus on the Big Shot since it can be ordered by customers now. I LOVE the Top Note die, which is exclusive to SU!. I ended up using it on all 3 projects.  As you can see, it makes a striking focal point when stamped inside it.

I taught our group how to do Faux Embossing using the Upsy Daisy stamp set, which is on sale again this month. First, stamp your image in classic ink that matches your cardstock. Then, using a Stamp-a-majig for perfect placement, line up the image again, only slightly off and stamp over in white craft ink. It truly looks like it’s embossed! Try it – you will be amazed! I showed this to my daughter, who could really care less about stamping (switched at birth, I tell you!) and she reached out to touch the flowers, saying, “Is this embossed?”  Well clearly she has learned something after showing her every single creation of mine (just to get a pat on the back!)  When I told her how I did it, she actually said, “That is so cool!”. Maybe she wasn’t switched after all….

Stamps: Upsy Daisy, Fresh Cuts, Best Yet; Paper: Sage Shadow & Whisper White cs, Windsor Knot DSP, Tangerine Tango, Old Olive & Very Vanilla cs, Haiku DSP; Ink: Sage Shadow, Basic Black, Old Olive & Whisper White craft; Accessories: So Saffron Poly-Twill ribbon, Top Note Bigz die, Birds & Blooms sizzlit die.

The next 2 projects we made for Hallowe’en. Since my this club will not meet in October until the 16th, it doesn’t give them much time to order items to make for Hallowe’en so I thought I’d sneak a fun project in there now. I saw this treat bag here. It’s so easy to do, too!

You take your Top Note die and place it inside the bag so that it only cuts one side of the bag when you run it through the Big Shot. I cut mine out of the backside of the bag, since it’s smoother (no folds at the bottom) and would be easier to stamp on.  When stamping, put a little something inside the bag like a folded piece of cardstock or a piece of chipboard to make the surface harder, making a better impression.  I also found that stamping in craft ink resulted in much better images than classic ink. Cut out a piece of acetate to place behind the cut-out, using Snail (double-sided tape) around the edges to stick to the inside of the bag.  Fill with goodies, tie a ribbon on the top and you’ve got a cute treat for someone.  I can see this decorated many ways, filled with so many fun things!  Sorry about the visibility of the grease from the popcorn on the bag, but when I took the first picture yesterday I didn’t have the Owl Treat Topper with it so re-took the photo this morning after it sat out all night like that!

Then I decided to use the cut-out from the bag to make the cute Owl Treat Topper, which I saw here.  I used the Birds & Blooms Sizzlit large perforated flower for the outside of the eyes, and the 1″ & 1/2″ circle punches for the inside of the eyes.  I used the 3/4″ square punch for the nose.  One of my customers folded the square in half instead of cutting it like I did and made the nose even cuter!  The scallop circle punch is used on the bottom of the owl.  Thanks for looking!

Stamps for Treat Bag: Tasty Sweet, Eat, Drink & Be Scary (Holiday Mini, available 10/1); Paper: Whisper White & Basic Black cs; Ink: Kiwi Kiss & Basic Black classic, Pumpkin Pie, Old Olive & Basic Black craft; Accessories: Basic Black marker, Haunting Jumbo wheel, Black 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon, linen thread, small & large tag punches, 1/8″ handheld circle punch, Top Note Bigz die, standard size lunch sack, 1/4″ sheet acetate
Stamps for Owl Topper: none; Paper: Really Rust, So Saffron, Basic Black & Chocolate Chip cs; Ink: Chocolate Chip to sponge around edges; Accessories: Bird & Blooms Sizzlit die, 1″ & 1/2″ circle punches, scallop circle punch, 3/4″ square punch, sponge

Read Full Post »